Commonwealth Bank
shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out

Victorians aplenty in ICC Champions Trophy squad

The Cricket Australia National Selection Panel have named a 15-man squad for the ICC Champions Trophy being held in England and Wales next month, which features a record six Victorians.

Glenn Maxwell and Matthew Wade return after featuring in the 2013 tournament, however Aaron Finch, John Hastings, James Pattinson and Marcus Stoinis are all new-comers to the Champions Trophy.

Speaking on the make-up of the squad National Selector Trevor Hohns said: “We have selected a very exciting well balanced squad that will give us plenty of options with both batting and bowling, depending on the conditions.

“We are in a very fortunate position at the moment with a large number of quality players available for selection, as such this was a very difficult team to choose and there have been some unlucky players on this occasion.”

Returning to the one-day international squad following a lay-off with injury are Victorian fast-bowlers James Pattinson and John Hastings.

“Both James and John have made very good returns from injury and are bowling well for their respective teams in the English County competition as well as both contributing well with the bat.

Stoinis has also retained his spot after a blistering return to the Australian One-Day makeup in New Zealand, where he became the first Australian to take three wickets and hit a century in an ODI.

Those players that are in Australia will depart for England on 18 May with the remaining players in the IPL to join as their teams finish in the tournament.

Australian 2017 ICC Champions Trophy squad

Steve Smith (C), NSW

David Warner (VC), NSW

Pat Cummins, NSW

Aaron Finch, VIC

John Hastings, VIC

Josh Hazlewood, NSW

Travid Head, SA

Moises Henriques, NSW

Chris Lynn, QLD

Glenn Maxwell, VIC

James Pattinson, VIC

Mitchell Starc, NSW

Marcus Stoinis, VIC

Matthew Wade, VIC

Adam Zampa, SA